Jeff Beck Group - Jeff Beck Group (Classic Album UK 1972)

Selasa, 15 Januari 2013

Size: 79.2 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit Remaster

Jeff Beck Group is the fourth studio album by The Jeff Beck Group and the second album with the line up of Jeff Beck, Bobby Tench, Clive Chaman, Max Middleton and Cozy Powell. The album was produced by Steve Cropper and often referred to as the Orange Album, because of the orange which appears prominently at the top of the front cover.

During January 1972 the second Jeff Beck Group flew to the US and joined Beck at TMI Studios in Memphis, Tennessee. Some of the songs they worked on were already in their stage act and unlike Rough and Ready they also recorded five cover songs for this album, including a new version of Ashford & Simpson's "I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel For You" and Carl Perkins's Sun Records release, "Glad All Over" (1957). 

The Cropper and Beck collaboration "Sugar Cane" was one of several songs written whilst in the studio. At an "end of recording party", Beck was congratulated by Don Nix on his version of "Going Down", which Nix had written and which was originally released by the band Moloch in 1969. Freddie King had covered the song in 1971. The album was released in the US on 1 May 1972. The UK release was held back until 9 June the same year and tours of the UK and the US followed. There were no singles taken from this album.

Billy Walker writing for the music paper Sounds found the album "not to the standard of Rough and Ready", however Chris Welch from Melody Maker wrote,

"This is the boldest Beck guitar we've heard for a long time. His style might not be to everybody's taste. It sounds almost sardonic at times almost personal. Beck's Skill at timing and cliff hanging suspense at the tail end of phrases is brilliant and his backing licks are almost as interesting...great stuff!".

Roy Carr from New Musical Express wrote that "the performance far exceeds that of the material", whilst David Hughes wrote in the Disc Music Echo that "..the mood and tempo changes and you are hooked to the end". However Rob Mackie from the Record Mirror reflected that there was "no clue that you listening to the band led by one of Britain's best ever guitarists". Others, such as Charles Sharr Nurray, writing for the OZ had even less favourable things to say about the album.

01."Ice Cream Cakes" (Beck) – 5:40 
02."Glad All Over" (Aaron Schroeder, Sid Tepper, Roy Bennett) – 2:58 
03."Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You" (Bob Dylan) – 4:59 
04."Sugar Cane" (Beck, Steve Cropper) – 4:07 
05."I Can't Give Back the Love I Feel For You" (Valerie Simpson, Nickolas Ashford, Brian Holland) – 2:42 
06."Going Down" (Don Nix) – 6:51 
07."I Got to Have a Song" (Stevie Wonder, Don Hunter, Lula Mae Hardaway, Paul Riser) – 3:26 
08."Highways" (Beck) – 4:41 
09."Definitely Maybe" (Beck) – 5:02

1. Link
2. Link
Poster 1972

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar