Mountain - Climbing (Outstanding 1st Album US 1970)

Kamis, 01 November 2012

Size: 76.8 Mb
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Japan 24-Bit Remaster

Climbing!, also known as Mountain Climbing!, is the official debut studio album by American blues-rock band Mountain. Released on March 7, 1970, the album featured the 'classic' Mountain lineup of Leslie West (guitar, vocals), Felix Pappalardi (bass, piano) and Corky Laing (drums, percussion), and followed the West solo album Mountain featuring Pappalardi and drummer Norman Smart, released in 1969 and often credited to the band. Produced by Pappalardi, the album reached number 17 on the American Billboard 200 albums chart and featured the band's best-known song "Mississippi Queen".

Mountain was the combined forces of Leslie West, a gigantic guitarist/vocalist who had played with New York garage-psych rockers the Vagrants, and Felix Pappalardi. Pappalardi had a slightly more impressive track record, coming from the modern East Coast folk-rock movement (the Youngbloods), before he applied his production skills to Cream. Through this, Felix never really stopped playing and eventually formed Mountain. Often billed as a junior-league version of Cream, Climbing!, Mountain's debut, had a lot of things going for it as well. 

Indeed, West was a changed man from the moment he saw Clapton play, and Pappalardi was able to help him achieve the exact same tone Clapton employed on Disraeli Gears. The hit off Climbing!, "Mississippi Queen" is a boogie classic, and it paved the way for countless imitators such as J. Geils Band, Foghat, and others. There are a lot of other great tracks here, such as "Never in My Life," which was an FM radio staple at the time.

01. "Mississippi Queen"   Corky Laing, Felix Pappalardi, David Rea, Leslie West 2:30 
02. "Theme for an Imaginary Western"   Pete Brown, Jack Bruce 5:10 
03. "Never in My Life"   Gail Collins, Laing, Pappalardi, West 4:50 
04. "Silver Paper"   Collins, G. Gardos, Steve Knight, Laing, Pappalardi, West 3:17 
05. "For Yasgur's Farm"   Collins, Gardos, Laing, Pappalardi, Rea, Gary Ship 3:20 
06. "To My Friend"   West 3:36 
07. "Laird"   Collins, Pappalardi 4:35 
08. "Sittin' on a Rainbow"   Collins, Laing, West 2:20 
09. "Boys in the Band"   Collins, Pappalardi 3:35 
10. "For Yasgur's Farm" Collins, Gardos, Laing, Pappalardi, Rea, Ship 2:30 

1. Link
2. Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar