Amory Kane - Just to Be There (Great & Rare Folk UK 1970)

Senin, 04 Februari 2013

Size: 90.4 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included
Source: Korea 24-Bit Remaster
(Big Pink Records Korea)

Amory Kane (born March 28, 1946) is a British-based American musician, most renowned for his work in late 1960s "swinging London", perhaps for his single "Reflections of Your Face", which was covered by artists such as P.J. Proby. He is also notable in that members of Led Zeppelin played in his band. Kane worked as a session musician in London, playing on recordings credited to bands such as The Magic Lanterns. He released two solo albums: Memories of Time Unwound, released in 1968 on MCA and Just to Be There, released in 1970 by CBS, which featured Dave Pegg of Fairport Convention on bass guitar.

Though American, Amory Kane was based in the U.K. when he recorded this, his second album; Fairport Convention bassist Dave Pegg, in fact, is one of the accompanists. It's a somewhat drifting, laid-back singer/songwriter effort that doesn't strike out with much force or distinction. There's a bit of Donovan-like wistfulness, as well as something of a utopian hippie-era brotherhood feel à la "Get Together," which is in fact covered for one of the LP's tracks. 

But the tunes are on the bland side, and the songs sometimes have an awkward wordiness. Bits of pastoral period psychedelic touches float around the arrangements, like ghostly wind noises, hand percussion, and eerily reverbed plucks, scrapes, and licks. Even by the lowered expectations folk-rock-psychedelic collectors might bring to very obscure records such as this, however, it isn't anything special. 
Recorded at Ron Geesin studio, 208 Ladbroke Grove, London W10.Late Autumn, 1969. CBS Records 63849 (12", 33.3rpm, stereo LP) UK 1970

01."Evolution" - 6:48   
02."Llanstephan Hill" - 4:17  
03."Four Ravens" - 4:09   
04."Golden Laces" - 7:57   
05."Get Together" - 4:41   
06."After Vytas Leaves" - 3:15   
07."Childhood's End" - 3:32   
08."The Inbetween Man" - 2:51   
09."The Hitchhiker's Song" - 3:18   
10."Tenderly Stooping Low" - 4:11

1. Link
2. Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar