Savoy Brown - My Father's Place US 1975 FM Broadcast (Bootleg)

Selasa, 11 Desember 2012

Size: 136 MB
Bitrate: 320
Found in OuterSpace

Savoy Brown, originally known as the Savoy Brown Blues Band, are a British blues rock band, formed in 1965, in Battersea, South West London. Part of the late 1960s blues rock movement, Savoy Brown never achieved as much success in their homeland as they did in the United States, where they promoted their albums with non-stop touring.

The band was formed and led by guitarist Kim Simmonds, whose dominating personality led to a myriad of personnel changes. Others have attributed the constant lineup adjustments to the "creative accountancy" employed by the band's manager, Harry Simmonds, brother of Kim.

The original line-up included singer Bryce Portius, keyboardist Trevor Jeavons, bassist Ray Chappell, drummer Leo Manning and harmonica player John O'Leary (O'Leary appeared on record with the band on its initial recordings for Mike Vernon's Purdah label). Portius was one of the first black blues musicians to be a part of a British rock band. Jeavons' was replaced by Bob Hall shortly after the band's formation, and this was followed shortly by O'Leary's departure and the arrival of Martin Stone on guitars. This line-up appeared on the band's 1967 debut album, Shake Down, a collection of blues covers.

Further line-up changes ensued, with founding members Portius, Chappell, and Manning departing along with recently-recruited guitarist Stone over a short period of time. Chris Youlden and Dave Peverett would become the band's new vocalist and guitarist respectively. Initially Bob Brunning and Hughie Flint filled the bassist and drummer positions on the single "Taste and try (before you buy)" (Decca F 12702), but they were subsequently replaced by Rivers Jobe and Bill Bruford. Within a fortnight of Bruford's arrival in the band, he had been replaced by Roger Earl. This lineup recorded two albums in 1968, Getting to the Point, and Blue Matter, which demonstrated Youlden's rise as a songwriter alongside Simmonds. It was this lineup that released the single "Train to Nowhere" in 1969. A Step Further was released later that year, and introduced bassist Tony Stevens replacing Jobe. They developed a loyal core following in the United States, due to songs such as "I'm Tired", a driving, melodic song from the album.

Following the release of Raw Sienna (also released in 1969) both Youlden and Hall departed the band. Raw Sienna had marked the first time that a single lineup of the band had recorded subsequent albums without any personnel changes in between. The band recorded their next album, 1970's Looking In, as a four-piece, and following this album Peverett, Stevens, and Earl left to form Foghat with guitarist Rod Price.

Simmonds continued the band with Dave Walker on vocals, Paul Raymond on keyboards and guitars, Andy Silvester on bass, and Dave Bidwell on drums. Almost the complete Chicken Shack line up.

They were one of the bands that UK Decca (US London/Parrot) stuck with through the lean times until they started selling records (it took four or five albums until they started to sell in the U.S.) In the late 1960s and 1970s, the band managed to penetrate the Billboard Hot 100. Superstardom perpetually evaded them, perhaps in part because of their frequent line-up changes, but despite that their next album, Hellbound Train (1972) was a Top 40 album for them in the U.S. In January 1974, the British music magazine, NME reported that Stan Webb was joining Savoy Brown, following the break-up of Chicken Shack.

While the band is still active today, touring the world and recording regularly, only Simmonds has stayed since the beginning. Original member and harmonica player John O'Leary is still active on the British blues circuit with his band Sugarkane. Another singer, Dave Walker, later joined Fleetwood Mac and Black Sabbath. Their bassists included Andy Pyle, who played with Mick Abrahams from Jethro Tull in Blodwyn Pig then later with The Kinks and Gary Moore. Andy Silvester had played with Wha-Koo and Chicken Shack. Savoy Brown also provided an outlet for keyboardist and guitarist Paul Raymond, who later went on to join UFO.

Savoy Brown contributed the song "A Man Alone" for the soundtrack to the movie Kickboxer 2.

In 2008, "Train to Nowhere" was used in, and figured as a clue, in the TV series CSI: NY, in Season 4, Episode 10 - “The Thing About Heroes”.

Their first album for Blind Pig Records, Strange Days, was released in 2003. The band released another record Steel in 2007.

Their most recent album, Voodoo Moon, was released by Ruf Records in 2011

Savoy Brown - My Father's Place, Old Roslyn, New York, September 10th 1975, FM.

(((Excellent SoundQuality))) 

01. Tell Mama (jump in on the first note)
02. Born Into Pain
03. Walkin' And Talkin'
04. Hero To Zero
05. Hellbound Train 
06. All I Can Do (Is Cry)
07. You Don't Have To Go > outro

1. Link
2. Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar