The Rolling Stones - BBC Studios, 1963 - 1965 (At The Beeb) (Bootleg)

Selasa, 18 Desember 2012

Size: 236 MB
Bitrate: 320
Found in OuterSpce
Artwork Included

The Rolling Stones - At the Beeb (BBC studios, 1963 - 1965)

This 2cd set comprises the long lost session recordings the Rolling Stones made especially for British BBC radio between 1963-1965. They are in chronological order and as complaete as possible. Every effort was made to track down the best sources, be it from the BBC archives or from avid fans who taped these shows off the radio in the early 60s. This as necessary since the BBC itself erased most of its programmes as in those days they were not considered worthwhile enough for preservation! The tapes were equalized, de-noised, de-clicked and speed-corrected in order to make the overall sound quality as perfect as can be.

The Rolling Stones' 1963-1965 BBC sessions have usually been scattered piecemeal over innumerable bootlegs. This two-CD, 50-track set does what should have been done a long time ago by a legitimate label, gathering every known recording they did for the radio network onto one package. There are things to be said against this anthology, namely the uneven sound quality, which ranges from excellent to marginal (though overall it's pretty good). But even at its worst it's listenable, and the compilers did seem to be working from the best available tapes that have escaped into circulation. Of more importance, this is the most complete picture yet of the most vital body of early Rolling Stones recordings that has yet to gain official release. 

As is usual for BBC compilations (authorized or otherwise) of British Invasion bands, much of it's given over to live (or at least live-in-the-studio) performances of songs also found on their official studio releases, though with a rougher and stripped-down edge. There are, however, a number of songs that never found their way onto those releases, including great covers of Chuck Berry's "Memphis, Tennessee" and "Roll Over Beethoven"; not as great, but still good, covers of Berry's "Beautiful Delilah"; and versions of Tommy Tucker's "Hi Heel Sneakers," Bo Diddley's "Cops and Robbers" and "Crackin' Up," Buster Brown's "Fannie Mae," and Howlin' Wolf's "Down in the Bottom." These alone would make this of significant importance, but there are also BBC versions of a lot of material from their early albums, EPs, and singles going back to their debut 45 "Come On," and including such standouts as "I Wanna Be Your Man," "You Better Move On," "I Just Want to Make Love to You," "Around and Around," "Carol," "It's All Over Now," "Route 66," "2120 South Michigan Avenue," "Walking the Dog," "The Last Time," and "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction." Alas, there are very few Stones originals on the set; the only others besides "The Last Time" and "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction" are "Little by Little" and "The Spider and the Fly." 

And as with some other bands who recorded prolifically for the BBC, there are multiple versions of many of the songs, though never more than two of any of the same tune, spaced far enough apart from each other that listener enjoyment isn't diminished. On the whole these are sparkling, if occasionally raw performances that testify to the group's brilliance as an R&B-rock band in their early days. There's no reason they shouldn't be officially released with the appropriately possible sonic cleanup, especially as there are several other far less worthy Stones rarities/live releases cluttering their official discography. 

The Rolling Stones
"Beat Beat Beat at the Beeb" 

CD 1

Saturday Club, October 26,1963 
  01. Come On
  02. Memphis Tennessee
  03. Roll Over Beethoven

Saturday Club, February 8,1964 
  04. Ain't That Loving You Baby
  05. Don't Lie To Me
  06. Mona
  07. Walking The Dog
  08. Bye Bye Johnny
  09. I Wanna Be Your Man
  10. You Better Move On

Saturday Club, March 8,1964 
  11. Roll Over Beethoven
  12. Beautiful Delilah

Blues In Rhythm, Camden Theater, March 19, 1964 (Stereo) 
  13. Route 66
  14. Cops and Robbers
  15. You Better Move On
  16. Mona 

The Joe Loss Show, April 10, 1964 
  17. Hi-Heeled Sneakers
  18. Little By Little 
  19. I Just Wanna Make Love To You
  20. I'm Moving On 

Saturday Club, April 18, 1964 
  21. Not Fade Away 
  22. Walking The Dog 
  23. I Just Wanna Make Love To You 
  24. Beautiful Delilah 
  25. Hi-Heeled Sneakers 
  26. Carol 

CD 2

Saturday Club, June 6, 1964 
  01. Meet Me In The Bottom 
  02. You Can Make It If You Try
  03. Route 66 
  04. Confessin' The Blues 
  05. Down The Road Apiece 

The Joe Loss Show, July 17, 1964 
  06. It's All Over Now 
  07. If You Need Me 
  08. Confessin' The Blues 
  09. Carol 
  10. Mona 

Top Gear, July 23, 1964 
  11. Around and Around 
  12. If You Need Me
  13. I Can't Be Satisfied 
  14. Crackin' Up 

Rhythm and Blues, October 31, 1964 
  15. 2120 South Michigan Avenue (fades at 3:42)

Top Gear, March 6, 1965 
  16. Down The Road Apiece
  17. Interview
  18. Everybody Needs Somebody To Love 
  19. The Last Time 

The Rolling Stones Special, August 30, 1965 
  20. Mercy Mercy 
  21. Oh Baby We Got A Good Thing Going
  22. The Spider And The Fly 
  23. Satisfaction 

Saturday Club, September 18, 1965 
  24. Cry To Me
  25. Fannie Mae

Part 1: Link
Part 2: Link
Part 1: Link
Part 2: Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar