Brothers Unlimited - Who's For The Young (Funky-Fuzz US 1970)

Kamis, 11 Oktober 2012

Size: 62.2 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Recorded by a 14-strong collective of professional musicians from Muscle Shoals and Memphis, this smouldering collection of psych-tinged soul and funk first appeared in 1970. Featuring strong melodies, tight rhythms, fuzzy guitars and superb organ work (or, as the original sleevenotes put it, ‘real fine, funky, hard-driving, up-tempo, contemporary, down-home, nitty-gritty solid soul’), it’s been a legendary rarity for years and makes its long-overdue CD debut here.

A excellent album of southern funk -- and darn rare, too! We know almost nothing about the Brothers, but they're a 14 piece combo with a tight ensemble funk sound that clearly shows roots of both the Memphis and Muscle Shoals scenes where the album was recorded! 

There's a lot of fuzzy guitar, almost in a Detroit Westbound mode -- but the band's also got a sweetly southern funk style, with lots of organ bubbling underneath the tracks, punctuated by some pretty tight drum work that really makes the best cuts groove nicely in a more righteous take on the Stax/Volt sound of the time. A really wild one -- and the kind of record that makes your jaw drop when you realize that some lucky A&R guy was actually able to get an underground soul album released by a major label! Titles include "Got To Get Over", "Life, Dreams, Death", "Get Away", "Take Me Back", and a great psychedelic cover of Willie Dixon's "Spoonful". (Plus, the back cover's got a photo of the band eating at a big table -- with the words "Excuse their appearance, but the cameraman caught them at suppertime. You understand.")

01.      Who's For The Young?
02.      A Change Is Gonna Come
03.      Got To Get Over
04.      Hey Little Rich Boy
05.      Get Away
06.      Life, Dreams, Death
07.      Spoonful
08.      Take Me Back
09.      What We Need Is Harmony

1. Link
2. Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar