Mick Farren - Vampires Stole My Lunch Money (ex. Deviants UK 1978)

Selasa, 16 Oktober 2012

Size: 65.1 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped by: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Michael Anthony 'Mick' Farren (born 3 September 1943, in Cheltenham, Gloucestershire) is an English journalist, author and singer associated with the UK Underground and counterculture scene.

Farren was the singer with the proto-punk band The Deviants between 1967 and 1969, releasing three albums. In 1970 he released the solo album Mona – The Carnivorous Circus which also featured Steve Peregrin Took, John Gustafson and Paul Buckmaster, before leaving the music business to concentrate on his writing.

In the mid-1970s, he briefly returned to music releasing the EP Screwed Up, album Vampires Stole My Lunch Money and single "Broken Statue". The album featured fellow NME journalist Chrissie Hynde and Dr. Feelgood guitarist Wilko Johnson.

He has sporadically returned to music, collaborating with Wayne Kramer on Who Shot You Dutch? and Death Tongue, Jack Lancaster on The Deathray Tapes and Andy Colquhoun on The Deviants albums Eating Jello With a Heated Fork and Dr. Crow.

Aside from his own work, he has provided lyrics for various musician friends over the years. He has collaborated with Lemmy, co-writing "Lost Johnny" for Hawkwind, and "Keep Us on the Road" and "Damage Case" for Motörhead. With Larry Wallis, he co-wrote "When's the Fun Begin?" for the Pink Fairies and several tracks on Wallis' solo album Death in a Guitar Afternoon. He provided lyrics for the Wayne Kramer single "Get Some" in the mid-1970s, and continued to work with and for him during the 1990s.

Vampires Stole My Lunch Money is a 1978 album by the UK underground artist Mick Farren.

Farren had left music performance after his 1970 album Mona – The Carnivorous Circus to concentrate on journalism and writing. However, in 1976 he had the opportunity whilst in New York to record the single "Play With Fire"/"Lost Johnny" reigniting his interest in performing again. The Screwed Up EP followed in 1977, recorded for Stiff Records and featuring Larry Wallis, Paul Rudolph, Alan Powell and Andy Colquhoun.

Newly formed Logo Records approached Farren with the possibility of re-releasing some of his material but were delighted when he expressed a preference for recording new material. Retaining his band, minus Rudolph who had returned to his native Canada, the group recorded this album which featured guest appearances from fellow NME journalist Chrissie Hynde, Curved Air singer Sonja Kristina, former Dr. Feelgood guitarist Wilko Johnson and harmonica player Will Stalybrass.

"Half Price Drinks"/"I Don't Want To Go This Way" was released as a single from the album, followed by the non-album single "Broken Statue"/"It's All In The Picture".

Mick Farren – Vocals 
Larry Wallis – Guitar and bass 
Andy Colquhoun – Guitar and bass 
Alan Powell – Drums 
Chrissie Hynde – vocals 
Sonja Kristina – vocals 
Wilko Johnson – guitar 
Will Stalybrass – harmonica 

01. "Trouble coming Everyday" (Frank Zappa) 
02. "Half Price Drinks" 
03. "I Don’t Want To Go This Way" 
04. "I Want A Drink" 
05. "Son Of A Millionaire" 
06. "Zombie Line" 
07. "Bela Lugosi" (Farren/Colquhoun) 
08. "People Call You Crazy" (Farren/Colquhoun) 
09. "Fast Eddie" (Farren/Colquhoun) 
10. "Let Me In, Damn You" 
11. "(I Know From) Self Destruction" (Farren) 
12. "Drunk In The Morning" 

1. Link
2. Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar