Coloured Balls - Heavy Metal Kid (Australian Blues-Hard-Rock 1974)

Kamis, 11 Oktober 2012

Size: 140 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped By: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

With the dawning of 1974, the future looked bright for the Coloured Balls. Their album Ball Power sat in the Melbourne Top 10 (national #13) and their performance at Sunbury 1974 over the Australia Day weekend had been a triumph. They were at the peak of their powers, one of the country’s top live draws Yet, by the end of the year, fate had intervened and the band was simply crumbling under the weight of outside pressures: EMI calling for hit singles; the national media branding them as anti-social misfits; a wave of violence unfolding at their gigs around the country.

The image, perpetrated by the media, sat uneasily with the members of the Coloured Balls - one of the most misunderstood bands of the early 1970s. Fortunately, they left behind another great album in Heavy Metal Kid. Like Ball Power, this album retains a power and strength of purpose to this day, displaying an adventurous spirit and further reaffirmation of the band’s status as a pioneering progressive / hard rock outfit. One of the standout album tracks “Back To You” was performed recently when Lobby Loyde was inducted into the ARIA Hall Of Fame (backed by the Aztecs). 

The band managed one more single “Bama Lama Baby / Be Your Lover” before disbanding. This single was thought to be their last recording, until a master tape of an unreleased single “Flying / Around and Around” was discovered. Recorded live in the studio in 1975 with engineer / producer Gil Matthews, these 2 tracks represent the final studio offering from one of Australia ’s greatest bands. Heavy Metal Kid is presented in a 6 panel digi-pak with a 24 page booklet filled with rare photos & liner notes by Ian McFarlane. It has been digitally remastered with 7 bonus tracks.

  01. Heavy Metal Kid
  02. Do It
  03. Just Because
  04. (You're So Square) Baby I Don't Care
  05. Private Eyes
  06. See What I Mean
  07. Dance To The Music
  08. Yes And No
  09. Back To You
  10. Need Your Love
  11. Sitting Bull
  12. Custer's Last Stand
  13. Metal Feathers
  14. Tin Tango
  15. Summation (U. Baby)

  16. Dave The Rave (Singles, 1973 - 1974) (Bonus Track)
  17. Love You Babe (Singles, 1973 - 1974) (Bonus Track)
  18. Shake Me Babe (Singles, 1973 - 1974) (Bonus Track)
  19. Bama Lama Baby (Singles, 1973 - 1974) (Bonus Track)
  20. Be Your Lover (Singles, 1973 - 1974) (Bonus Track)

  21. Flying (Previously Unreleased 1975 Single) (Bonus Track)
  22. Around ; Around (Previosly Unreleased 1975 Single) (Bonus Track)

1. Link
2. Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar