Family - Music In A Doll´s House (1st Album of UK Rock 1968)

Jumat, 12 Oktober 2012

Size: 70.0 MB
Bitrate: 256
Ripped By: ChrisGoesRock
Artwork Included

Music in a Doll's House is the debut album by progressive rock group Family, released in July 1968. The album, which was mainly produced by Dave Mason of Traffic, features a number of complex musical arrangements contributing to its ambitious psychedelic sound.

The non-LP single "Scene Through the Eye of a Lens" b/w "Gypsy Woman" not withstanding, Music in a Doll's House (1968) is the debut full-length release from the earliest incarnation of Family, featuring Roger Chapman (harmonica/tenor sax/vocals), Rick Grech (violin/ cello/bass guitar/vocals), Rob Townsend (percussion/drums), John "Charlie" Whitney (guitar/pedal steel guitar/keyboards), and Jim King (harmonica/keyboards/soprano sax/tenor sax/vocals). 

Their highly original sound has often been compared to Traffic, which may be in part due to the production skills of Jimmy Miller and Dave Mason, the latter also contributing the organic and rootsy rocker "Never Like This." Additionally, neither band was overtly psychedelic or progressive, contrasting them from the other burgeoning combos such as Soft Machine, Pink Floyd, and Caravan. Family's deceptively involved arrangements are coupled with an equally unique blend of Chapman's commanding vocals driving through the jazz and folk-rooted tunes. "The Chase" is a spirited opener that immediately establishes their unmistakable vibe, which is furthered on the sides "Old Songs for New Songs" and the aggressive rocker "Peace of Mind." The antithesis can be heard on the rural-flavored "Mellowing Grey" and "Winter," or perhaps the almost blatantly trippy "See Through Windows."

01."The Chase" – 2:16 
02."Mellowing Grey" – 2:48 
03."Never Like This" – 2:20 (Dave Mason) 
04."Me My Friend" – 2:00 
05."Variation on a theme of Hey Mr. Policeman" – 0:25 
06."Winter" – 2:26 
07."Old Songs New Songs" – 4:18 
08."Variation on a theme of The Breeze" – 0:39 
09."Hey Mr. Policeman" – 3:14 
10."See Through Windows" – 3:44 
11."Variation on a theme of Me My Friend" – 0:22 
12."Peace of Mind" – 2:26 
13."Voyage" – 3:31 
14."The Breeze" – 2:52 
15."3 x Time" – 3:51
1. Link
2. Link

0 komentar:

Posting Komentar